WAYNE E. RICHARDS AWARD

The Wayne E. Richards Award will be presented to an individual Kansas VFW member who has been an active VFW member for several years in the Post, District or Department.

Qualifications and nominating forms will be emailed the latter part of February and completed forms must be received at Department Headquarters no later than the deadline on the form.

The award will be presented at the Department Convention banquet.

The Wayne E. Richards award, this year's winner will be the 61st, was started by the encouragement of his family to honor past National Commander in Chief Wayne E. Richards, 1953-54, the first Commander-in-Chief from Kansas. There have been three Chiefs from Kansas. They were Wayne E. Richards, John Stang, and Norman Staab. The Wayne E. Richards family wanted an award to go to a Kansas VFW member whom had shown exemplary service over a significant period of time. The first Wayne E. Richards award winner was Louis Rosenburg in 1964. The sixth Wayne E. Richards award winner was Elmer L. Jenkins.

The work for these awards can be done at the Post, District, or Department levels or a combination of two or all three. There have been 12 double winners with Clyde Hatcher being the first and Gerald Marvin being the latest.

For your convenience, a list is provided of previous winners.

Louis Rosenburg Gen Joe Nickell Merle Jordan Bill Fribley Marion T Burton Elmer Jenkins Floyd McGehe Robert Dole Austin Wells John W. Bossler George T. Hansen *Clyde H. Hatcher Ben Linenberger Ronald Huebert Harley Whisnant Ewald Behnke G. L. Belding Francis Harshaw James Chism Louis Warsinski Harry M. Watkins *Jay W. Ritchie Harold Rhea Kenneth Kirby George Muller *Lawrence Tholen *Robert R. Whipple Vernon McVey Bernard Holt Charles E. Cook *Darrell Bencken Denny Lawson John Fridley Charles Cloud Jake Long Harry Nelson *Roger Sellers Robert Sander Norman Bottger John Shlichting *Barney Aldridge Orlin Wagner Leon Bortz *Lewie Cooper Robert Petterson Lester Wenndt Charley Shoemaker Leslie Thompson Gerald Mangold Norman Gentry *John Berkley Danny Puckett J.T. Plummer Jackie Barnes *Robin Ray Bobby Cox *Fred Weigel Phil Irby Paul Saliger Michael Holland *Gerald Marvin

DEPARTMENT OF KANSAS, VFW

WAYNE E. RICHARDS AWARD

Nomination Form

Name	Post #	Life Member?

Address	City	Zip
---------	------	-----

SOME QUALIFICATIONS

- 1. Current Kansas VFW Member or Life Member
- 2. Active in Post District and/or Department
- 3. Please list a short resume on nominee as to activities in the Veterans of Foreign Wars.

RESUME

Submitted by _____

FORM MUST BE RECEIVED AT DEPARTMENT HEADQUARTERS NO LATER THAN APRIL 1.